Australian GTs in ‘05
The Confederation of Australian Motor Sport (CAMS), together with representatives from a new series, the Australian Motor Race Series, and its Event Promoters, finalised a calendar for 2005, on December 23.

So there’s a new series down under, and entrants in the various categories look as though they’ll be celebrating a new era in Australian motorsport.

It’s a 10 event program, featuring:
Australian Formula 3 Championship (Australian Driver’s Championship for the CAMS Gold Star);
Australian Production Car Championship;
Australian GT Championship;
Australian Formula 4000 Championship;
Australian Superkart Championship;
Touring Car Challenge Series;
Tranzam Sports Sedans Series;
Saloon Car Series;
Commodore Cup Series.

“The Australia Motor Race Commission, along with members of the CAMS Administration, has gone through an extensive and inclusive process with all parties to come up with what we believe is an exciting and effective motor racing series,” said Graeme Emerton, Chairman of the Australian Motor Race Commission.

“The entire process of establishing this motor race series has taken longer than we expected, but the Australian Motor Race Commission felt it was important to give all parties a solid foundation to ensure the on going development of each of the categories involved.”

Mr Rod Dale, Director of the Australian Motor Race Series said, “While the negotiation process was a hard and long road, we are happy with the destination.

“It was our objective to have a competitively priced national series for all categories involved,” continued Rod Dale. “We also wanted to give event promoters a viable option to host an alternative national event. We are confident that the Australian Motor Race Series will grow each year.”

There’s no sign of Bathurst on the calendar for '05 though:
27-Feb-05 RD 1 Wakefield Park
17-Apr-05 RD 2 Mallala
01-May-05 RD 3 Winton Motor Raceway
22-May-05 RD 4 Phillip Island
03-Jul-05 RD 5 Queensland Raceway
24-Jul-05 RD 6 Eastern Creek Raceway
21-Aug-05 RD 7 Phillip Island
18-Sep-05 RD 8 Oran Park
13-Nov-05 RD 9 Wakefield Park
04-Dec-05 RD 10 Eastern Creek Raceway


Contents Copyright © All Rights Reserved.