VdeV Historic Challenge - 6 hours of Lédenon
A third consecutive victory for Allen Lloyd, Gerry Wainwright and their Lola T70 ensured the Van de Vyver Historic Challenge title last weekend (October 10) – writes Pascal Thebault.

Located at the top of a hill near Nîmes, the Lédenon twisting “toboggan” suited the small block Chevy. Two good drivers ensured that the smaller cars were left with the scarps: the three seconds gap in qualifying spoke for itself. But it was a joy for French fans to see and hear the lovely machinery used by the British pair all season long (they started with a Ford GT40).


Jean-Claude Andruet didn’t make the start with the orange Chevron (second overall), so a third place was enough for the Stepak family and François Bourdin to make the second step in the final standings. Luc Deneve, Serge Brison and Jean-Marie Leys followed with Widi Racing’ Elva Mk7, preceding the tiny Alpine M63B of Gérard Besson / Marc Peccolo.


Jon Shipman / Mark Hales (Crossle) and Jacques Nicolet / Marc Faggionato (Costin Nathan) encountered mechanical troubles.

The GT class was enhanced by the attendance of some interesting (and above all different) cars like a MGC Sebring (replica?) or the comeback from Belgium of the Miroux family’s quick Datsun 240Z.



But Team Polybaie from Angoulême had its two 911s on top of the category, thanks to Delfim Rodrigues / Charly Diemer / Alain Bohn and Bernard Moreau / Miguel Langin. Another flat 6 was third with Andreu Vidal / Toni Termes from Catalonia.

This last race is time to take stock: the Historic Challenge ’04 line-up suffered a little in numbers in comparison with the Modern one. But the standard of cars looks better than ever and the championship can rely on the support of its faithful teams: “Rendez-vous” in ’05!

Race Result
1. Allen Lloyd - Gerry Wainwright (Lola T70 Chevy)
2. David Ferrer - Romain Brandela (Chevron B8 BMW)
3. Henri Stepak - Sylvain Stepak - François Bourdin (Elva Mk8 BMW)
4. Luc Deneve – Serge Brison – Jean-Marie Leys (Elva Mk7 BMW)
5. Gérard Besson – Marc Peccolo (Alpine M63B Renault)
6. Alain Bohn – Charly Diemer – Delfim Rodrigues (Porsche 911)
7. Jacques Nicolet – Marc Faggionatto (Costin Nathan BMW)
8. Bernard Moreau – Michel Langin (Porsche 911)
9. Sylvain Guanzini – René Ligonnet – Alain Giavedoni (Elva Mk7)
10. Andreu Vidal – Toni Termes (Porsche 911)

Final Standings
1. Allen Lloyd - Gerry Wainwright / 137 points
2. Henri Stepak - François Bourdin / 113 pts
3. Jean-Claude Andruet - David Ferrer - Romain Brandela / 105 pts
4. Jacques Nicolet / 104 pts
5. Delfim Rodrigues / 101 pts
6. Pierre Dutoya - Serge Saulnier - Laurent Dutoya / 92 pts
7. Gérard Besson - Marc Pecollo / 90 pts
8. Marc Faggionato / 89 pts
9. Christophe Belin / 87 pts
10. Damien Kohler / 85 pts


Contents Copyright © dailysportscar.com. All Rights Reserved.