Super Sprint Challenge, Lausitzring – July 3/4
A record field of 27 cars gathered at the Eurospeedway Lausitzring in Germany on 3/4 July, for a weekend of racing as a support event for the FIA Throroughbred Grand Prix series. Reigning Interserie Champion Arnold Wagner walked away from the two races with a maximum points score: his main adversary, Emanuel Pedrazza, twice lost out to technical gremlins. Both races initially saw the two Cosworth-powered cars involved in a fight for the lead: in race 1, Pedrazza's PRC developed gearbox trouble and fell back while in race 2, a driveshaft broke on the sportscar, and Wagner once again went on to win not only his class, but the race overall.

Result Division 3, races 1 & 2
1. Arnold Wagner, Reynard-Cosworth F3000
2. Peter Milavec, Lola-Audi turbo F3000
3. Henry Büttner, Reynard-Cosworth

If Wagner had it all his own way in Division 3, winning both races from Milavec and Büttner, Pedrazza's tally added up to a second place and a DNF. Wolfgang Payr with the PRC-BMW made his way past Pedrazza's crippled car in race 1, and then put himself firmly in control of race 2 following the demise of his main rivals, Pedrazza and Beisel. Briton Mike Roberts scored a fine second place, the first podium for the Jade marque in SCC/SSC history.

Results Division 1, race 1
1. Wolfgang Payr, PRC- BMW
2. Emanuel Pedrazza, PRC-Cosworth
3. Gerd Beisel, PRC-Mugen

Race 2
1. Payr
2. Mike Roberts, Jade-Nissan

Division 2, for the prototypes up to 2000cc, saw a number of strong competitors sit out this meeting, and so the contest was between Burkhard Stricker and local man Georg Hallau in the PRC-Opels, another PRC of Martin Vondrak, and Wolfgang Dietmann in the Alfa-powered Argo. Stricker dominated race 1, and won from Hallau and Vondrak; Dietmann retired with accident damage. Stricker found himself under much more pressure in the second heat, Vondrak and Dietmann chasing him all the way to the finish, but he nevertheless held on to win the race.

Results Division 2, race 1
1. Burkhard Stricker, PRC-Opel
2. Georg Hallau, PRC-Opel
3. Martin Vondrak, PRC-Alfa

Race 2
1. Stricker
2.Wolfgang Dietmann, Argo-Alfa
3. Vondrak

The next Super Sprint Challenge round will take place at the Autodrom Most on 14./15 August, a week after the inaugural Interserie Endurance 100 Trophy at the Lausitzring: this is the event that is expected to see the appearance of the Doran Lista Dallara.
Johannes Gauglica


Contents Copyright © All Rights Reserved.