Brumos Rileys Coming Soon
“The #16 car finished 13th, behind the Donohue / Law Fabcar (we wrote on June 30, in a race report covering the Brumos 250 from Daytona): “new Rileys can’t come soon enough for the Brumos team.”

And now Brumos Racing team owner Bob Snodgrass has announced that the team has purchased two Riley Technologies MKXI chassis – which will be powered, like the Fabcars, by Porsche 3.8 liter engines.

The first Brumos Racing Riley will debut in Red Bull #58 livery at Barber Motorsports Park on July 30, while the second car will appear at Infineon Raceway on August 26, in the familiar Brumos Racing white, red and blue livery.

It seems as though it isn’t the end for the Fabcar chassis though, as Snodgrass explains: “Our goal is to add Riley to our overall team efforts and continue to (with?) the development of the FABCAR chassis which we began with in 2003. With the addition of the Riley cars we can commit further development time away from the race weekends for our FABCAR chassis.”

“I would like to thank Brumos Racing for the opportunity to further develop the FABCAR chassis and with the time now available we can work on the parts of the chassis that we have identified and test our updated configurations in conjunction with Grand American’s rules,” said Fabcar’s Dave Klym. “I look forward to setting some more records with FABCAR as we did when the Daytona Prototype class started in 2003,” added Klym, perhaps rather optimistically.

Hurley Haywood and JC France, in the #59 Fabcar, were the first overall winners of a Rolex Series event in a Daytona prototype – on March 1 2003, at Homestead. The Fabcar was soon overshadowed by the second generation DPs from Bill Riley and Max Crawford, and even a major update for the start of the 2006 season didn’t release front-running pace from the Fabcars.

The best finish so far this year for the Donohue / Law pairing in #58 has been fourth, in the Rolex 24, but their 'regular' finishing position has been some way behind the front-runners, and they’re 116 points behind driver points leader Jorg Bergmeister (358 – 242).


Contents Copyright © All Rights Reserved.