Riley & Taylor Plan To Go Their Own Ways
Bill Riley’s Riley Motorsports LLC, of Indianapolis, Indiana, and Wayne Taylor’s Surrey Sport LLC, of Apopka, Florida have announced this week that their joint operation – running the SunTrust Riley Pontiac in the Rolex Series – will come to an end at the conclusion of this season.

"As we approach the end of our third year with this program, we are delighted with the success we have achieved with the SunTrust Race Team, in great part from Bill Riley and the fine team we assembled,” said Wayne Taylor. “Nothing lasts forever, and through a mutual decision, we have plans to grow in different areas so we are both moving forward, but separately. The success we all achieved will go down in the Grand American history books and for that, we are very proud.”

“We will no longer oversee the running of the No. 10 car after the 2006 season, and are looking to expand in numerous areas, including within Grand American itself,” said Bill Riley, President of Riley Motorsports (with Max Angelelli, right). “We are fortunate to have a number of opportunities present themselves which will allow us to expand our business in multiple areas of racing and now is the right time.”

Wayne Taylor and Max Angelelli won the 2005 Grand American Rolex Sports Car Series Team and Driver Championships in the DP class with five victories, ten podium finishes, three poles and seven fastest laps.

Remarkably, the #10 Riley completed every lap of the 2005 Rolex season.

The Riley Mk.XI chassis has won a total of 24 races, finished on the podium 68 times and won two Constructor Championships since its creation and first race in January of 2004.

“We are really proud of the accomplishments we’ve made with both the success of the No. 10 SunTrust Pontiac Riley team and the Riley chassis,” added Bill Riley. “I want to thank SunTrust and Wayne Taylor for the opportunity to be a part of this success for the past three years. We have a great group of people who are very good at their jobs and truly focused on winning. Success comes from teamwork and we are pleased to have dedicated people on board, both with the accomplishments in the past and as we move forward.”

Here are the post-race celebrations at Laguna Seca, the #10 car's only win of 2006, so far (Angelelli and Magnussen).


Contents Copyright © All Rights Reserved.