Rand’s Drivers
The Sebring TBAs are gradually (rather quickly now, actually) being replaced by genuine drivers – and here’s the line-up for the two Rand Racing LMP2 Lola B2K / 40s:
dailysportscar.com#7 Mike Fitzgerald / James Gue / Bill Rand (right)
#8 Marino Franchitti / Derek Hill / Andy Lally.

Yokohama will provide the tyres for the two cars as well as engineering and development resources.

"I believe we've assembled all the elements for a winning team," Bill Rand commented. "We have an exceptional group of drivers, Yokohama as our technical partner, and Thomas Blam as Team Manager and Jeff Braun as Technical Director. We've had some past success in endurance racing, and we're really looking forward to Sebring. We hope that's our first step to Le Mans, and to the ALMS championship."

“Past success” is a reference to Rand Racing sweeping up in SRP2 in the 2002 Grand Am Series. The link between that season and this one, on the driver front, is Marino Franchitti. The Scot raced four times for the team in 2002, taking one win and three seconds. Andy Lally was a Rand rival that year: now the much admired American joins the team.

Rand Racing won every race it entered in 2002 (nine out of ten): 2004 could be a little tougher.

The likes of Nic Jonsson, Terry Borcheller, Anthony Lazzaro and Ralf Kelleners have moved on to other projects, leaving openings for the newcomers to the team.

Rand Racing has also announced a driver development program: Colin Braun, just 15 years old will serve as the team’s test driver.


Contents Copyright © dailysportscar.com. All Rights Reserved.