Alex Job’s Drivers
The 2003 ALMS GT Champions have, as expected, made a change to the line-up in one of the team’s new Porsche 911 GT3-RSRs for 2004: in place of Sascha Maassen and Lucas Luhr will be Marc Lieb and Romain Dumas. Timo Bernhard and Jorg Bergmeister will stay together – in the #23 Porsche this year, with the ‘newcomers’ in the #24 car.

Maassen and Luhr – racing in the FIA GT Championship this year – won’t race exclusively in Europe: Maassen will join Bernhard and Bergmeister at Sebring and Petit Le Mans, with Luhr joining Lieb and Dumas.

The team will unveil a new livery for Sebring.

dailysportscar.comBoth Marc Lieb and Romain Dumas are proven Porsche winners already: they raced together to that classic overall victory at last year’s Spa 24 Hours (the pair of them on the podium - right), with Lieb going on to win the N-GT title in Europe, while Dumas was part of the winning AJR team at Petit Le Mans. They both know how to win!

“I have a lot of confidence in our four drivers to be able to keep the team at the top and further our excellent record in the series," said Alex Job.

He described the RSR as “an improvement in several areas, nothing radical, just typical Porsche making something great even better”.

“With the new car and the always competitive Michelin tires, we are looking forward to another great year."

Job’s team won every ALMS race (GT class) except Road America in 2003, and was also a part of the winning combination (AJR / Petersen - White Lightning) at Le Mans.

The 2004 challenge will be to race against similar RSRs with equally ‘hot’ driver line-ups, and beat the new Ferrari 360 GTC too. There were occasional reliability issues in 2003 (usually with the Bernhard / Bergmeister car), but Porsche should have all the 2004 developments fully tested by the time of the Sebring 12 Hours next month.

The team has Tim Pendergast on board as team manager: Tim was the ALMS operations and special projects director last year. Mike Evans continues as the team's technical director, with Greg Fordahl handling engineering duties. At Sebring, Kerry Foote will crew chief the #24 car with Evans and Phil Pierce handling the #23 entry.

A win at Sebring would make four consecutive 12 Hours victories for AJR. The team has turned down its automatic entries at Le Mans.


Contents Copyright © All Rights Reserved.