Sebring Hall of Fame Inductees
Induction ceremonies for those joining the Sebring Hall of Fame are held every other year, and the select group nominated for 2004 (with a celebrity luncheon at Chateau Elan on the Friday of the March meeting), are as follows:

Sir Stirling Moss, Mario Andretti, Carroll Shelby, Bobby Rahal, Bob and Al Holbert, race official Ford Heacock Sr., and Ferrari (the manufacturer).

The achievements of this group at Sebring include the following:

Stirling Moss - recorded a stunning upset win at Sebring in 1954, driving an OSCA with Bill Lloyd. He finished second in 1957 and set the fastest race lap three times.

Mario Andretti - one of only four three-times winners at Sebring. His dramatic 1970 win in a works Ferrari 512S (remember when the 917s had stub axle problems?) was the only championship win for the 512S – and he also won in a Ford Mk lV (1967) and a 312PB Ferrari (1972).

Carroll Shelby - finished second at Sebring in 1955, his cars won the GT class at Sebring in 1964 and 65, and his Shelby American team engineered an overall win for Ford (Ken Miles / Lloyd Ruby) in 1966.

Bobby Rahal - won at Sebring in 1987 (with Jochen Mass in the Bayside 962) and in 1982 he took the pole and finished second.

Bob Holbert and his son Al - both had remarkable careers at Sebring. Al Holbert won twice at Sebring (1976 and 81), and also recorded two second-place finishes. Bob Holbert drove to a record six class victories, including second overall in 1960 and a historic GT class win driving a Shelby Daytona Cobra Coupe in 1964.

Ferrari - becomes only the second manufacturer inducted into the Sebring Hall of Fame. The legendary "Prancing Horse" has won Sebring 12 times, with 16 major class wins, nine pole positions and fastest race lap eleven times.

Ford Heacock, Sr. - a key official during the infancy of Sebring's classic endurance race.

"The 2004 inductees represent some of the greatest names in road racing history," stated Sebring Raceway President Tres Stephenson. "The selection committee had the difficult task of narrowing the list to this exclusive group. We are truly honored to have such a prestigious class of inductees."

Previous inductees include Juan Manuel Fangio, Dan Gurney, Jim Hall, John Fitch, Porsche, IMSA founder John Bishop and former promoters Alec and Mary Ulmann, Charles Mendez and John Greenwood.


Contents Copyright © All Rights Reserved.